E-Books

COMING MAY 1

Echo L—is up to her eyeballs in unpaid bills and, as a daughter of political activists caught on the wrong side of history, can’t get a job or government assistance. She’s willing to pay any price, even her life is fair game and that’s exactly what CryoCredit wants. CryoCredit can answer all of your financial prayers, for a price. 75 years in a deep freeze sleep cycle will pay off all of Echo’s debt. CryoCredit promises that when she wakes up, all the resources she would have used when she was asleep will pay off everything she owes. What they don’t promise is a world for her to wake up to.

While Echo slept a vicious plague swept across the world, it decimated continents and turned humans into ravenous, rage filled monsters. Some of the survivors strive for hope and improving humanity. Others want nothing more than to return to the oppressive world Echo abandoned for a clean financial slate.

When she is found by the citizens of a peaceful settlement in the ruins of her home town, Echo must choose whether or not to fight along side them for a better future or side with those who want to return to the past.

How far would you go to save the world?

The citizens of Ashur are survivors. Their founders survived The Blight and created a sustainable paradise amidst their warmongering neighbors. When a scouting party finds a Past Life, someone from the old world preserved in time by technology that no longer exists, some are suspicious, some are skeptical, and most hold little trust in the sins of the past. But Ashur didn’t survive this long by abandoning what might be useful.

When the Administrative Body of Ashur give Echo a home, she must agree to certain conditions. Firstly, become a productive member of the settlement by integrating completely into their society. This means participating in the Coupling Ritual, a ceremony that joins all able bodied citizens into reproductive union for the sake of humanity’s continued survival. The last thing Echo wants to do is die in the wasteland. The second to last thing she wants to do is get married.

What Echo does want is a purpose. In the old world she was worse than a rebel without a cause, she was a passive resister, fueled by fear after her father was killed by police at a political protest and daunted by the godlike fortitude of her mother’s quest for social justice, until she was also killed. When Echo discovers a plot to destroy all the good Ashur stands for, Echo must choose to finally fight for what she believes in or roll over and let all the evils of humanity consume her.

The Echo of Something Hitting

ISBN: 9781732036703

Where do you go after the flood? After you drown? Can a ruptured body repair itself or does it drag itself along the road, go as far as it can before it dies?

A nameless traveler drives down the road and is swept away by a flood that transforms the road into a river, transforms the landscape into something vicious and inhospitable. Searching water and sky for everything that is lost, the blood and bone of the organic organism abandons the twisted, inorganic body of the car and dives deeper into the unknown. On this roadriver, the shifting boundaries of life and death know no limits. The Echo of Something Hitting is a lyric essay that explores the transformative journey from disaster to survival and beyond; a deconstructed creature returning to the earth, becoming something new.

Fans of Catherynne M. Valente’s The Labyrinth and Bhanu Kapil’s Incubation: A Space for Monsters will enjoy this handful of words.

(The first edition of this book was published in April, 2016, and titled Riverkill. This second edition has revised and updated content, as well as a new title and book cover. The ebook Riverkill is no longer available for download, The Echo of Something Hitting is the new incarnation of the text.)

Lupercalia

ISBN: 9781732036710

Full of rebellion, desire, and viciousness, Jessica Halsey’s Lupercalia guides readers through the ruins of stories when they smash against reality. The city is born, slippery and feral, and then it grows, collects and rejects a multitude of denizens that break and reshape the boundaries of mythology and genius loci, the spirit of the place/city.

An inventory of ghosts, explorations of grief and loss, the effects of oppression on a body existing in a landscape of hostility; Lupercalia contains snapshots of surreal realities, these speculative and fantastical poems represent the search for identity and purpose in a world that challenges the endurance of the human spirit. From the fall of Icarus to the loneliness of an abandoned doll, these poems represent how every hero and trial is a reflection of our lives today.

When is a mythological body not a myth? There are no mermaids in National Geographic documentaries, we do not have holy relics of Odysseus or the longitude and latitude of Skylla’s cave. However, the stories of trial and triumph are mirrors that reflect our collective human attempts at living. Living as verb, living as the adventure that is worth experiencing. The heroes and villains of mythology are our bodies, our stories. This collection explores the capacity of a poem’s body to endure love and pain in equal measures. These poems use the power of lyric, poetical and prosaic, to demonstrate the capacity for love to survive within memories of sorrow.

(This collection is a revised and updated second edition of Jessica Halsey’s two previously self-published poetry collections, Graveyard and Twisted Myths.)